ESSENTIAL EXPERIENCE: Sleeping in a fort under the stairs

How important it is to keep that childhood wonder! I love this cozy little fort! Wish we had stairs to make one.

I went to a cabin in Big Bear last weekend and indulged in a childhood delight: I slept in a fort under the stairs.

I came late to the cabin party so all the beds and couches had been taken. My good friend Diana, who’d organized the cabin weekend, said there was a hidden sleeping spot, a fort they’d made by tying blankets to the stair railings. There were pillows inside, it felt secret and safe. I claimed it!

This was a perfect turn of events, because lately I’m trying to act more like a kid. The closer I get to childlike experiences, the happier I feel. The more serious life gets–loved ones with health problems, taxes I still need to file–the more I find relief in seeking out the simple magic of childhood, when blankets could create enchanted hiding places, and life was as trying as my next spelling…

View original post 185 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

