My Brother has Esophageal Cancer

Hey guys. This isn’t an easy post to write.

He’s not my biological brother, but more of a spiritual brother.  He calls me Sis.

We’ve been close for years. He’s been through a lot in his life, which I may or may not write a short book about (though it’s more of a joke at this point).

The Seraphim has always looked out for me and believes in me as much as The Monk does.  He used to be angry, really angry at everyone, but I would calm him down.

I haven’t seen him much since he moved across the country to travel with 3 blind Indians. He’s moved again since then, every time a new adventure.

He says this is just “another adventure for your book”.

But this isn’t a game.

Only 1 in 4 people survive.

Still, lots of people have survived various forms of cancer.

Then again, he’s probably one of the youngest (in his late 20s) people with this disease.

That gives him a better shot right?

Most of the people with esophageal cancer have been smoking or drinking for the last 20 years.

He smoked for a year or two and only drinks occasionally.

WTH?

I guess it comes down to stress.

Anyways, he’s a fighter.

But that’s kind of a dumb metaphor.

 

I’ll probably provide some information about Esophageal Cancer over the next couple of weeks.

(http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/types/esophageal)

I didn’t even know this existed, so I figure we should have some kind of awareness campaign or something.

He liked that.

 

He’s coming home in a week, but he says he won’t look like himself.

Frankly, I’m scared.

I don’t want to see the strongest person I know like that.

But we’ve got to be strong, right?

That’s what they say…

Image

This entry was posted in Adventures, Cancer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

